Sherman Cohn Library: Acupuncture and Herbal Medicine: Resource List

Library Materials

Academic Writer - formerly APA Style CENTRAL To facilitate the understanding and use of APA style, current students, faculty, and staff may create an Academic Writer account and engage in self-paced learning utilizing the many tutorials and learning activities presented in this service. Academic Writer includes writing templates and citation management functions that will make it easier to utilize APA style.
Access Databases Search or browse through our online database collection. Some resources listed here can only be used off campus by current students, faculty, and staff (those with active "@muih.edu" email accounts) who have created a Library Catalog Account.
Ask a Librarian The Ask a Librarian service is accessible through the Canvas account of faculty and current MUIH students. The service contains answers to FAQs and contact forms.
Catalog of the Sherman Cohn Library Search through titles in our collection using the online catalog of the Sherman Cohn Library.
Contactless Circulation Contactless circulation offers MUIH students, faculty, and staff the ability to request, checkout and receive items from our catalog without having in-person contact with a librarian. Requested items that are available in the library's catalog will be checked out to the requesting patron and secured in either an exterior lockbox or interior locker maintained by the library. Patrons must complete the Contactless Circulation Request Form to request items.
EBSCO Will provide journal articles and ebooks as well as article records that are not full text. Accessing EBSCO off campus will require you to use your library account to log in.
Google Scholar Provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Some of the materials found on Google Scholar will contain links to free full text.
Integrative Search Integrative Search provides one means of searching through all Sherman Cohn Library holdings along with open access resources and other publications that are not owned by the Library. Integrative Search is accessible to all, however, access to selected content is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff (authorized users) who have established their Library Catalog Account.
Library Account Login Once created, use this link to log into your Library Account in order to access our electronic resources.
Library Services Guides and Tutorials Selected downloadable guides and tutorials offering step-by-step instructions for individual library resources and services.
Medical Dictionary The Medical dictionary provides authoritative descriptions of medical conditions, medications, anatomical terms, and so much more from The American Heritage Stedman's Medical Dictionary, Second Edition.
Natural Medicines - formerly Natural Standard Contains several databases related to Foods, Herbs & Supplements, Health & Wellness, Comparative Effectiveness, Medical Conditions, Brand Names, and Interactive Tools. An authoritative resource for health-care consumers, researchers, practitioners, etc. This resource provides broad and deep cross-referencing of treatment modalities, medicines, herbs, scientific studies, review monographs, and much more. You will be required to use your library account to log into Natural Medicines from off campus.
more...less...
NOTE: Access to Natural Medicines is available on an intermittent basis due to technical difficulties. We apologize for any inconvenience as we resolve this issue.
Renew Your Library Materials Log in to your Library Account and renew currently checked out materials.
Resolve a DOI Use this site to resolve a Digital Object Identifier (DOI).
Sherman Cohn Library Guides & Tutorials

Gold lock icon = MUIH Library Account required Sliver lock = MyMUIH account required
Purple lock icon = MUIH Canvas account required information icon = Click for information about this resource

Integrative Search Integrative Search provides one means of searching through all Sherman Cohn Library holdings along with open access resources and other publications that are not owned by the Library. Integrative Search is accessible to all, however, access to selected content is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff (authorized users) who have established their Library Catalog Account.

Use Integrative Search to find book titles. To locate physical or online book holdings at Sherman Cohn Library, select the type of book search and enter keywords or a title, and search the database. Limit the results list to “Available in Library Collection”.

Catalog of the Sherman Cohn Library

Search the Catalog to locate physical and online book holdings as well as non-book materials at Sherman Cohn Library.

Google Books Access to book information, which may include text passages and sometimes full text, can be found by conducting a search or browsing within a subject discipline.

Books are available for purchase. Additionally, select chapters or pages are available for viewing via Google Books.

Books at Amazon If you have an Amazon account, log in and you will find that selected eBook passages are available as read-only text.

Amazon often provides sample book pages that can be viewed. To obtain views of the most full text possible, use your existing or create an account with Amazon. When you log in to Amazon this additional book content can be seen and it can also be searched.

WorldCat Need something from a local library? This is a combined catalog of the holdings of numerous libraries around the world and contains over a billion records. Most WorldCat member libraries are larger libraries. Catalog entries from smaller local libraries may not appear in WorldCat.

Access WorldCat to find out if a Library near you has a book. Search for the book title in WorldCat, then enter your zip code into WorldCat to see which local libraries, if any, own the title and then phone the local library to see if you can gain access to the work.

The Library's online article collection can be searched using the following Integrative Search text box, and then refining the results list:

BioMed Central Contains full-text materials in biomedicine from an open access publisher.

BioMed Central enables full-text access to materials in biomedicine from an open access publisher.

Cochrane Library: Plain Language Summaries MUIH does not have a subscription to Cochrane Library, however, plain language summaries from Cochrane's systematic reviews are accessible in search results.

MUIH does not have a subscription to Cochrane Library, however, plain language summaries from Cochrane's systematic reviews are accessible in search results.

Directory of Open Access Journals This is a directory of "free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals" created by Lund University Libraries in Lund, Sweden. There are over 10,000 journals listed, most of which can be searched at the article level.

This is a directory of "free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals" created by Lund University Libraries in Lund, Sweden. There are over 10,000 journals listed, most of which can be searched at the article level.

Google Scholar Provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Some of the materials found on Google Scholar will contain links to free full text.

Use Google Scholar to locate additional articles. When there is a link in the column on the right side of the search result page, this is the one to follow as it usually leads to full text.

Integrative Search: Online Publication Locator Use the Online Publication Locator in Integrative Search to find online journal publications by title.

Use the Integrative Search's Online Publication Locator to search for a specific journal by title or ISSN. Please note that the search result set will also show non-journal titles.

PubMed PubMed is a freely accessible database containing records on the topic of medicine and the health sciences. PubMed online training is available. You may also wish to view a list of subject terms that are affixed to PubMed records. Use PubMed's MESH Search Engine to do this.

Search this resource when materials from a predominantly Western-medicine focused database will meet your informational needs. Conducting a PICO Search? Utilize the PICO Search option available from Integrative Search (accessible from the Quick Links tab above). Need clinical information? Choose PubMed Clinical Queries from the PubMed Resource Links list.

WorldCat Need something from a local library? This is a combined catalog of the holdings of numerous libraries around the world and contains over a billion records. Most WorldCat member libraries are larger libraries. Catalog entries from smaller local libraries may not appear in WorldCat.

WorldCat enables you to find out if a Library near you has a journal. Search for the journal title in WorldCat, then enter your zip code into WorldCat to see which local libraries, if any, own the title and phone the local library to see if you can gain access to the work.

PubMed Resource Links

PubMed PubMed is a freely accessible database containing records on the topic of medicine and the health sciences. PubMed online training is available. You may also wish to view a list of subject terms that are affixed to PubMed records. Use PubMed's MESH Search Engine to do this.
PubMed Online Training For assistance with searching PubMed, explore this tutorial.
PubMed MeSH Search through the Medical Subject Headings to find those most descriptive for your query, then use them in searching PubMed Customized by Sherman Cohn Library.
PubMed Central This limited subset of PubMed contains links to the full text article that is described by each record.
PubMed Clinical Queries This abbreviated version of PubMed can be useful at the point of care. It relays search results from PubMed in three columns: Clinical Study Categories, Systematic Reviews, and Medical Genetics, each showing records that pertain to the column in which they appear. Query results are limited to articles which provide reasonable amounts of evidence for or against a given intervention.

Highlighted Acupuncture and Herbal Medicine Resources

Classical Chinese Medicine MUIH holds a subscription to this resource for full text of translations of ancient texts, articles and interviews by Heiner Fruehoff and his colleagues, and video content. Authorized users may log in to obtain access to the Associates Forum which posts a new lecture and unpublished articles on a monthly basis.
Clinical Tools Resource List
Curriculum Series Copyright material owned by MUIH. You may save and print the .pdf files for your personal use only. The files may not be duplicated or distributed without permission from the MUIH administration.
Giovanni Maciocia's Article Collection Giovanni Maciocia is one of the most highly respected practitioners of acupuncture and Chinese herbal medicine in Europe. Giovanni is the author of many articles published in professional journals and his article on M.E. (post-viral fatigue syndrome) has been published in a Chinese medical journal, an honour rarely bestowed on foreign writers in China.
Institute for Traditional Medicine Articles about the use of Chinese herbs.
Integrative and Complementary Therapies Formerly titled Alternative and Complementary Therapies. This peer-reviewed journal contains articles on the use of a variety of alternative therapies. Access is available to materials published from 2014 to the present.
Lonny Jarrett Articles Find Lonny Jarrett's articles originally published in various journals. No part of these articles may be quoted or reproduced without a full citation.
Medical Acupuncture
The Society for Acupuncture Research (SAR) MUIH does not have a subscription with SAR.

NCCAOM: Library Collection Guides

Library Hours

The Library Commons area on campus is open during MUIH building hours.

Library services:

The general library service hours are listed below. Library service hours are subject to change based on library staff availability. We recommend viewing the Library Services Calendar before seeking library assistance.

On-campus assistance: email, phone, and in-person (including circulation services)

Tuesdays & Thursdays | 10:30 am - 4:00 pm
Saturday | library services N/A
Sunday | library services N/A

Virtual assistance: email or virtual session (webcam optional)

Mondays - Fridays | 10:30 am - 4:00 pm
Saturday | library services N/A
Sunday | library services N/A

Library Services Calendar

When the University is closed due to an emergency or weather-related events, the Library Commons and on-campus library services are not available. School closure notices will be posted on MUIH’s homepage. Additional closures to the Library Commons may occur for scheduled events and are noted on the Hours tab of the Research Tools site. Adjustments in library services may occur around holiday times, during trimester breaks, and unforeseen circumstances. Confirm library service availability with the Library Services Calendar or call the library at 443-906-5782.

By Phone or Email

443-906-5782
email

Forms

Library Online Contact Form This form is to alert the Library of a general question or concern. Complete the form and a library staff member will get back to you as soon as possible.
Suggest a Purchase
Technical Issues with Library System This form is to report problems with library systems (online catalog, eBooks, databases, and other library subscriptions).

The Library's Canvas Site is accessible to all faculty and to students working towards a certificate, masters, or doctoral degree, as well as to those with advanced special status. Use your Canvas login to experience this virtual library learning site that contains the Ask a Librarian Service, a Get Started Section, plus a link back to our Library's Research Tools page.

View of Library on Canvas

* The Library Commons area on campus is open during MUIH building hours.

- Please note general health protocols for the Library Commons:

* Maximum occupancy of the Library Commons is 20 individuals including library staff.

* An air purifier is located in the Library Commons.

* A hand sanitizer station is available.

* The library will not loan out headphones.

- Please note the general conditions for using the Library Commons:

* We ask all users to be mindful of the study areas and the people using the spaces;

* Refrain from eating or displaying food in the Library Commons;

* Covered beverages are welcome;

* Place your phone on silent and step outside for all calls;

* Headphones are required when listening to audio.

The Silent Areas and Meditation Area are located in the rear of the Library Commons. The space contains carrels for individual study, spaced 6 feet apart. USB and electric outlets are provided within each carrel.

Carrels with USB and electrical outlets

The Meditation Area is open and available for use on a first-come basis. Mats, pillows, and blankets will not be provided by the library. Users of the space must bring their own yoga mats, blankets, etc. for their own use and users should not leave their items behind.

Meditation Area

Note: When the University is closed due to an emergency or weather-related events, the Library Commons and on-campus library services are not available. School closure notices will be posted on MUIH’s homepage. Additional closures to the Library Commons may occur for scheduled events and are noted on the Hours tab of the Research Tools site. Adjustments in library services may occur around holiday times, during trimester breaks, and unforeseen circumstances. Confirm library service availability with the library's live calendar or reach the library at 443-906-5782.