Sherman Cohn Library: Professional &amp; Continuing Education: Resource List

COVID-19 Information for Researchers

Doors to the Sherman Cohn Library's Information Commons Room

Multidisciplinary Open Access Materials

Access Databases Search or browse through our online database collection. Some resources listed here can only be used off campus by current students, faculty, and staff (those with active "@muih.edu" email accounts) who have created a Library Catalog Account.
Catalog of the Sherman Cohn Library Search through titles in our collection using the online catalog of the Sherman Cohn Library.
Google Scholar Provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Some of the materials found on Google Scholar will contain links to free full text.
Medical Dictionary The Medical dictionary provides authoritative descriptions of medical conditions, medications, anatomical terms, and so much more from The American Heritage Stedman's Medical Dictionary, Second Edition.
Project Muse - open access Humanities journals and books from several academic presses and scholarly societies.
Purdue Online Writing Lab Use this site as you would a reference work to look up answers to citation and reference list formatting questions.
Wolfram | Alpha This application provides factual data in response to queries. It can serve as a general reference resource and can also provide information specific to species of plants, human growth charts, hospital statistics, medical tests, and calories burned in exercise. View the examples to obtain a sense of the power of Wolfram|Alpha.
WorldCat Need something from a local library? This is a combined catalog of the holdings of numerous libraries around the world and contains over a billion records. Most WorldCat member libraries are larger libraries. Catalog entries from smaller local libraries may not appear in WorldCat.

Books at Amazon If you have an Amazon account, log in and you will find that selected eBook passages are available as read-only text.
Catalog of the Sherman Cohn Library Search through titles in our collection using the online catalog of the Sherman Cohn Library.
Free Books 4 Doctors Free medical texts available as online books to provide unrestricted access to scientific knowledge.
Google Books Access to book information, which may include text passages and sometimes full text, can be found by conducting a search or browsing within a subject discipline.
WorldCat Need something from a local library? This is a combined catalog of the holdings of numerous libraries around the world and contains over a billion records. Most WorldCat member libraries are larger libraries. Catalog entries from smaller local libraries may not appear in WorldCat.

BioMed Central Contains full-text materials in biomedicine from an open access publisher.
Cochrane Library: Plain Language Summaries MUIH does not have a subscription to Cochrane Library, however, plain language summaries from Cochrane's systematic reviews are accessible in search results.
Directory of Open Access Journals This is a directory of "free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals" created by Lund University Libraries in Lund, Sweden. There are over 10,000 journals listed, most of which can be searched at the article level.
Free Medical Journals Over 5,000 medical journals are freely available to provide medical knowledge to the public.
Google Scholar Provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Some of the materials found on Google Scholar will contain links to free full text.
Mary Ann Liebert, Inc. - Open Access Journals Peer-reviewed open access publications offered by Mary Ann Liebert, Inc publishers include a wide variety of topics from Androgens to Women's Health Reports.
PLOS Journals A collaborative nonprofit providing peer-reviewed medical and science research.
PubMed PubMed is a freely accessible database containing records on the topic of medicine and the health sciences. PubMed online training is available. You may also wish to view a list of subject terms that are affixed to PubMed records. Use PubMed's MESH Search Engine to do this.
more...less...
PubMed Customized by Sherman Cohn Library is not available at this time. Updates to PubMed have disabled the Sherman Cohn Library's interlinked holdings with PubMed. We apologize for the inconvenience.
WorldCat Need something from a local library? This is a combined catalog of the holdings of numerous libraries around the world and contains over a billion records. Most WorldCat member libraries are larger libraries. Catalog entries from smaller local libraries may not appear in WorldCat.

PubMed Resource Links

PubMed PubMed is a freely accessible database containing records on the topic of medicine and the health sciences. PubMed online training is available. You may also wish to view a list of subject terms that are affixed to PubMed records. Use PubMed's MESH Search Engine to do this.
PubMed Online Training For assistance with searching PubMed, explore this tutorial.
PubMed MeSH Search through the Medical Subject Headings to find those most descriptive for your query, then use them in searching PubMed Customized by Sherman Cohn Library.
PubMed Central This limited subset of PubMed contains links to the full text article that is described by each record.
PubMed Clinical Queries This abbreviated version of PubMed can be useful at the point of care. It relays search results from PubMed in three columns: Clinical Study Categories, Systematic Reviews, and Medical Genetics, each showing records that pertain to the column in which they appear. Query results are limited to articles which provide reasonable amounts of evidence for or against a given intervention.

Resource Lists

The resource lists presented below contain subscribed and open access resources. The resource links without a proceeding lock are open access and may be of interest to PCE learners for professional and personal pursuits.

Acupuncture and Herbal Medicine Resources Selected resources for those pursuing a degree in Acupuncture and Herbal Medicine at the Maryland University of Integrative Health.
APA Style Resources This Resource List highlights materials that explain how to use the formats and rules for in-text citation and reference list entries as determined by the American Psychological Association in the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 6th edition.
Clinical Tools Resources
Health Promotion and Health/Wellness Coaching Resources Selected resources for those pursuing a degree in Health Promotion and Health & Wellness Coaching at the Maryland University of Integrative Health.
Herbal Medicine Research Guide Selected resources for those pursuing a degree in Western Herbalism at the Maryland University of Integrative Health (MUIH).
Integrative Health Studies Resources Selected resources for those pursuing a degree in Integrative Health Studies at the Maryland University of Integrative Health.
Nutrition Resources Selected resources for those pursuing a degree in Nutrition at the Maryland University of Integrative Health.
Professional & Continuing Education Resources
Publish! Resources Are you a student or faculty member who'd like to submit an article for publication? If so, this is the list for you. Explore the resources below, and publish!
Writing Resources
Yoga Therapy Resources Selected resources for those pursuing a degree in Yoga Therapy at the Maryland University of Integrative Health.

Library Hours

The Library Commons area on campus is open during MUIH building hours.

Library services:

The general library service hours are listed below. Library service hours are subject to change based on library staff availability. We recommend viewing the Library Services Calendar before seeking library assistance.

On-campus assistance: email, phone, and in-person (including circulation services)

Tuesdays & Thursdays | 10:30 am - 4:00 pm
Saturday | library services N/A
Sunday | library services N/A

Virtual assistance: email or virtual session (webcam optional)

Mondays - Fridays | 10:30 am - 4:00 pm
Saturday | library services N/A
Sunday | library services N/A

Library Services Calendar

When the University is closed due to an emergency or weather-related events, the Library Commons and on-campus library services are not available. School closure notices will be posted on MUIH’s homepage. Additional closures to the Library Commons may occur for scheduled events and are noted on the Hours tab of the Research Tools site. Adjustments in library services may occur around holiday times, during trimester breaks, and unforeseen circumstances. Confirm library service availability with the Library Services Calendar or call the library at 443-906-5782.

By Phone or Email

443-906-5782
email

Forms

Library Online Contact Form This form is to alert the Library of a general question or concern. Complete the form and a library staff member will get back to you as soon as possible.
Suggest a Purchase
Technical Issues with Library System This form is to report problems with library systems (online catalog, eBooks, databases, and other library subscriptions).

The Library's Canvas Site is accessible to all faculty and to students working towards a certificate, masters, or doctoral degree, as well as to those with advanced special status. Use your Canvas login to experience this virtual library learning site that contains the Ask a Librarian Service, a Get Started Section, plus a link back to our Library's Research Tools page.

View of Library on Canvas

* The Library Commons area on campus is open during MUIH building hours.

- Please note general health protocols for the Library Commons:

* Maximum occupancy of the Library Commons is 20 individuals including library staff.

* An air purifier is located in the Library Commons.

* A hand sanitizer station is available.

* The library will not loan out headphones.

- Please note the general conditions for using the Library Commons:

* We ask all users to be mindful of the study areas and the people using the spaces;

* Refrain from eating or displaying food in the Library Commons;

* Covered beverages are welcome;

* Place your phone on silent and step outside for all calls;

* Headphones are required when listening to audio.

The Silent Areas and Meditation Area are located in the rear of the Library Commons. The space contains carrels for individual study, spaced 6 feet apart. USB and electric outlets are provided within each carrel.

Carrels with USB and electrical outlets

The Meditation Area is open and available for use on a first-come basis. Mats, pillows, and blankets will not be provided by the library. Users of the space must bring their own yoga mats, blankets, etc. for their own use and users should not leave their items behind.

Meditation Area

Note: When the University is closed due to an emergency or weather-related events, the Library Commons and on-campus library services are not available. School closure notices will be posted on MUIH’s homepage. Additional closures to the Library Commons may occur for scheduled events and are noted on the Hours tab of the Research Tools site. Adjustments in library services may occur around holiday times, during trimester breaks, and unforeseen circumstances. Confirm library service availability with the library's live calendar or reach the library at 443-906-5782.

Professional & Continuing Education: Resource List

About This Guide