Sherman Cohn Library: Clinical Tools: Resource List

Clinical Tools

BestBETs "BETs were developed in the Emergency Department of Manchester Royal Infirmary, UK, to provide rapid evidence-based answers to real-life clinical questions, using a systematic approach to reviewing the literature. BETs take into account the shortcomings of much current evidence, allowing physicians to make the best of what there is. Although BETs initially had an emergency medicine focus, there are a significant number of BETs covering cardiothoracics, nursing, primary care and paediatrics."
Bookshelf by the U.S. National Library of Medicine This site provides both search and browse access to full text of selected books on biomedicine.
Cochrane Library: Plain Language Summaries
MUIH does not have a subscription to Cochrane Library, however, plain language summaries from Cochrane's systematic reviews are accessible in search results.
Disease Management Disease Management is "an online medical resource with more than 260 chapters in 15 specialty areas. Each chapter covers specific diseases and treatment strategies with an emphasis on nationally accepted standards of care."
Drug Interactions Checker The Drugs.com is owned and operated by the Drugsite Trust, a privately held Trust administered by two New Zealand Pharmacists. The Drugs.com website is intended for a U.S. audience and is hosted at a data center located in Dallas, TX, USA. "The Drugs.com Drug Information Database is powered by four independent leading medical-information suppliers: Wolters Kluwer Health, American Society of Health-System Pharmacists, Cerner Multum and Micromedex from Truven Health. Individual drug (or drug-class) content compiled by these sources is delivered complete and unaltered by Drugs.com."
Drugs, Herbs and Supplements: MedlinePlus Information about doses, side effects, interactions and more for drugs, herbs, and supplements.
DynaMed Plus (Limited Access; No Subscription) This is a freely accessible version of DynaMed, which is a database designed to provide "clinical decision support solutions".
EBSCO Will provide journal articles and ebooks as well as article records that are not full text. Accessing EBSCO off campus will require you to use your library account to log in.

Use this link to EBSCO to access the Nursing Reference Center or to access CINAHL, the Cumulative Index of Nursing and Allied Health Literature via EBSCOhost Web. NOTE: If you are off-campus, you will need to log in using your Library Catalog Account.

Epistemonikos "Combines the best of Evidence-Based Health Care, information technologies and a network of experts to provide a unique tool for people making decisions concerning clinical or health-policy questions."
Evidence Alerts "DynaMed Plus and McMaster University's Health Information Research Unit are collaborating to provide you with access to current best evidence from research, tailored to your own health care interests, to support evidence-based clinical decisions"

Registration is free and required to utilize Evidence Alerts.

Finding a Clinical Trial
Integrative Search Integrative Search provides one means of searching through all Sherman Cohn Library holdings along with open access resources and other publications that are not owned by the Library. Integrative Search is accessible to all, however, access to selected content is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff (authorized users) who have established their Library Catalog Account.

Select PICO from the Basic Search screen or the Advanced Search screen in Integrative Search: enter your problem or population in the P field, enter the intervention in the I field. If you have a comparison treatment enter it in the C field. If you are interested in a specific Outcome it would be typed into the O field. Only the P and I fields require search terms.

Medical Dictionary The Medical dictionary provides authoritative descriptions of medical conditions, medications, anatomical terms, and so much more from The American Heritage Stedman's Medical Dictionary, Second Edition.
Natural Medicines - Formerly Natural Standard Contains several databases related to Foods, Herbs & Supplements, Health & Wellness, Comparative Effectiveness, Medical Conditions, Brand Names, and Interactive Tools. An authoritative resource for health-care consumers, researchers, practitioners, etc. This resource provides broad and deep cross-referencing of treatment modalities, medicines, herbs, scientific studies, review monographs, and much more. You will be required to use your library account to log into Natural Medicines from off campus.
PubMed Clinical Queries This abbreviated version of PubMed can be useful at the point of care. It relays search results from PubMed in three columns: Clinical Study Categories, Systematic Reviews, and Medical Genetics, each showing records that pertain to the column in which they appear. Query results are limited to articles which provide reasonable amounts of evidence for or against a given intervention.
Tongue Gallery --G. Maciocia Images of the tongues of nearly a dozen individuals with notes about their color, shape, and coating along with information about health issues associated with each.
Trip Medical Database "Trip is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care......As well as research evidence we also allow clinicians to search across other content types including images, videos, patient information leaflets, educational courses and news."